Quick Thoughts on Prometheus

I saw Prometheus about two weeks ago and I finally decided to write something about it. It’s not a review just some bullet points about it. At first I thought it was an OK film, but now I’m having second thoughts. Everyone seems to want to analyze it on some deeper level than I’m about to, but since I’m not deep at all, I’ll just spew some stuff that kinda bugged me.

There will be spoilers, so if you haven’t seen the movie, don’t read this, just watch the many trailers that spoil the movie anyway.

Here they are, in no particular order:

  • There are some weird behaviors in the movie. Something I wouldn’t expect scientists to do.
  • I expected a more clear connection to Alien, now I’m confused.
  • It seems that the way to get to the classic Xenomorph is incredibly complicated.
  • I don’t mind the fact that not all questions are answered, I thought that was the point.
  • I’m not a biologist, but I think that when you see a strange creature you’ve never seen before, you don’t start playing with it.
  • I would think that finding proof of alien civilization, even if they were dead, would be an incredible discovery. I wouldn’t cry because I couldn’t talk to them.
  • Why would the scientists sign up to an expedition without knowing what it was? I mean, they told them why the where there after who knows how many years on the ship.
  • That whole infertility thing with Dr. Shaw just came out of nowhere.
  • Why would that medical machine only be calibrated for men when it was in a woman’s cabin?
  • Why is no one keeping an eye on the geologist and biologist when they spend the night in the structure?
  • How did they get lost in the first place if they had a map?
  • Why is there a giant head in the place they keep the alien creating substance?
  • How the hell did the Space Jockeys get to LV-426?
  • That cesarean scene was kinda cool, honestly.
  • Guy Pearce’s makeup was kinda laughable.
  • I wanted to see some Predators.
  • It made me want to see Alien, Aliens and Predator again. Those movies are awesome!
  • Out of the Alien movies, Prometheus is third. It would be kinda hard to be worse than Alien 3 and Alien: Resurrection.

Well, that’s it for now. Hope I’m not too lazy to update this blog again.

~ by jimmyboots1 on June 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
